Search

Security Officer Requirements in New Hampshire

How to Become a Security Guard in New Hampshire

Unarmed and Armed Security Guard Requirements in New Hampshire



The state of New Hampshire designates the criteria needed to work in the security sector. As an armed security guard in New Hampshire, you can be hired by a company or you can work for yourself and solicit your business. Regardless of which you choose, there is specific criteria that must be met. The license to become an armed security guard is $100 and must be obtained every two years.

As an unarmed security guard, the rules change. If you are hired by a company and on a payroll, there is no set of criteria to meet. If you solicit yourself and work as a sole proprietor, there are specific guidelines you must complete.


 

Basic Unarmed Security Guard Requirements in New Hampshire

  • You must be 18 years old.

  • You must be a U.S. resident.

  • You must have no prior felony convictions or misdemeanors involving violence, drug use, fraud, or theft.

  • You must provide three references to vouch for your good character.

  • You must submit two photos taken at the Division of State Police.

  • You must complete all paperwork required by the Permits and Licensing Unit.

 

Basic Armed Security Guard Requirements in New Hampshire

  • You must be at least 21 years old.

  • You must be a U.S. citizen.

  • You must have no prior felony, theft, or fraud convictions.

  • You must be licensed to carry a firearm.

  • You must provide three references to vouch for your good character.

  • You must submit two photos to the New Hampshire State Police.

  • You must complete all paperwork required by the Permits and Licensing Unit.

  • You must be in good physical condition.

  • You must have a New Hampshire driver’s license.

  • You must submit fingerprints.

 

For more information, you can contact the

New Hampshire Department of Safety, Permits and Licensing Unit.


American Alliance Security Agency, Inc.

www.aasecurityagency.com